zzzPhone, makers of the zzzPhone, have announced that their latest version now supports Android, making it what appears to the second Android phone in existence. The company has two of them in China right now and is taking orders for their $119 base model. You can add Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, pico-projectors, television tuners, and a Hell’s Angel and his lady.
The website is nigh on unusable right now but I ordered a zzzPhone with Android and it should arrive in 10 business days. As I’ve said before, this business model is solid: task some factory in China to build custom phones for fickle consumers. Sadly, I think zzzPhone’s presentation is definitely keeping this model from taking off and here’s hoping the company can survive long enough to make some of the $5.75 back it spent on website design.
I want zzzPhone to succeed. You so rarely see little guys trying to make it in this space and zzzPhone is quite clearly a little guy. But it can be done. After all, look at Cookie Puss. Tom Carvel did his own commercials and we all know how well that turned out. You can still buy Fudgie the Whale today.










I’m guessing that these can’t be used on Verizon, since they require a SIM card. Too bad, looks like it could be a pretty cool option.
Anyone find the speakers a little bit strange? Maybe we could have had a keyboard or something? That would have been killer.
That screen looks ridiculous.
Zack
So yea. I’ll wait until you post your review… This looks shady and a bit to good to be true. But if it works well and the modules are good then I may dump verizon when my contract expires. but seriously, how can you buy a phone with a website that looks so shady?
We will be waiting for the review. Maybe this is going to be my new mobile phone ;) Depends on review :)
well i bought too…with a few added options.
let’s pray this really is what it advertises itself to be this time round.
has anyone actually read of anyone who has actually received the nov 30 batch of phones
review yet? Did you even get it? does it suck or not come on man we need to know!!
nothing yet. still waiting.
erm I’m just wondering John…have they deducted money from you yet? or if so when did they?
I checked my account early last week maybe…and they still haven’t taken any $ off me yet. emailing them did not really produce a useful answer..
just wanna see if this is ‘normal’ or not
So, you were scammed… Your phone hasn´t arrived yet. Yeah, ut was too good to be true.
im still waiting on mine too
the fact that they’ve now changed their pics of the phone to something that isnt a bad photoshop job gives me a little more hope.
The website now says “order now to get your . . . phone by Dec. 15″
We’ll see.
Is it here yet? Been quite awhile no?
nothing for me..didn’t respond my email the second time.
Oh no.. Lets hope all of you guys didn’t get scammed.
I ordered mine on 11/6 and they did deduct the money about 3 weeks later… still waiting. They were replying to my emails with generic form letters but now that has stopped… I don’t think this will be a complete scam. I just hope the product isn’t complete crap when it finally does arrive.
Still nothing people?
still nothing for me.
my order was on the 26th November.
for a time they actually blocked my gmail address as spam. i had to email them from a different address asking them to put me on their whitelist.
no reply but im able to email them once again from gmail today.
id better check my account to see if they’ve deducted the $ lol
makes me wonder if they even have a working device on their hands o_O
I pity the foo´who signed up in their white label and already made some sales.
anyway, i must ask this today…
nothing yet, people???
none as of the 23rd…
You may want to look at this Group Discussion http://groups.google.com/group/android-discuss/browse_thread/thread/7497d67573a4e7f6 . It seems as if there are problems at ZZZphone.
Their site is down for good, it gives the android community post more credibility…
so… in the end it was indeed a scam…
so, you, people who paid for it, anything new? john?
So tell me why nobody did a whois lookup on zzzphone. I know there are a bunch of american zzzphone websites around but zzzphone.com is supposed to be the actual company right? Well here is what a whois lookup brings up:
horowitz, lawrence
3773 howard huges parkway 390n
las vegas, Nevada 89109
United States
18005073930
Just thought I’d throw that out there.
Chuck, I am not sure what you mean by that comment?
I was just pointing out the fact that the website had been registered from 1-5-08 to 1-5-09. After 1-5-09 the website goes down. The thing that struck me is that it’s not registered to a company let alone a company in China. It is registered to an american civilian. Struck me as odd is all.
the company owner was supposedly an american. they actually used that as a point of promotion
Dude.. this sounds sooo phony… like the conCepT is AMAZZZZZing, it could be or is potentially a BIG money maker, just the quality of the first phone they sent out is a let down, and they are soooo shady they haven’t even sent out the new phOnEs… and besides… they look freekin UGLY! i think i will just stick with ATtEmpTinG to make my own phone :P
seems like the site finally earned a
“”This site may harm your computer.”" tag, from google.
they are toasted.
But really though, who has gotten these phones? I really want to know! Seems more like a scam, but if its real and works fine, I would consider getting one.
I think the idea sounds great, but they do not respond to email, and the web site attempts to install not one but two viruses.
A shame, really.
i’m totally sure they’re dead. If you ordered one, let me know in email. john @ crunchgear.com
The kicker here is the fact that so many bloggers and news-worthy digital-zines announced this break-through in technology, fueling consumer interest and dollars to this scam, which goes to show us readers that not everything you report is fact.
So where do I buy one of these? Also, where do they get good service?